You are here

Orchestral & Symphonic Works [O1p]

Arcadian Symphony  (1997)
1998 Winner of the Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra Competition

Symphony in five movements
2(pic)222 2130 2perc str
25 minutes

By juxtaposing formal, harmonic and contrapuntal gestures from classical and romantic symphonies with a modern sensibility and idiom, the music of this symphony explores the tensions between light and shadow, playfulness and seriousness, fantasy and taut structure.
The Gavotte is also available in a separate piano transcription.

    1) Overture
    2) Scherzo
    3) Variations
    4) Gavotte
    5) Tarantella

(See the piano transcription of the Gavotte under Piano Music.)

See and hear the excerpts

Reviews & Testimonials

    “Neoclassic in design, the work takes unexpected Prokofievian shifts on a number of occasions, always leaving the listener alert.”
    -- Phillip George in 20th Century Music, October 1998

    “The scherzo is lively, sardonic, amusing, and motivically concise... the final tarantella is a strange one indeed, full of mysticism and wildness.”
    -- Nancy Bloomer Deussen in 20th Century Music, March 1998

    “...skillfully written, ambitious music that transmitted something fresh through old forms... The opening overture displayed imaginative orchestration... A theme and variations movement yielded one idiomatically luscious wind solo after another.”
    -- Ken Keuffel Jr. in The Arizona Daily Star, December 1998

Download the score (pdf)

If you would like the parts or a bound score please send us an email with a request.